Tuusanuuskat: Nääksää nää mun kyyneleet

Tuusanuuskat is a collaboration between Es and Tomutonttu. The name of the project Tuusanuuskat is a play on words derived from the phrase “tuusan nuuskana”, (tr. total shambles). It is a Finnish saying that is used when something has broken to a million pieces. The phrase is generally used in a playful context, and often received with laughter. If you google “tuusan nuuskana”, some of the first hits you’ll get are: “After birth; private parts tuusan nuuskana”, “Ferrari tuusan nuuskana” and “Steve Jobs mansion tuusan nuuskana”. Yes, they have chosen their name wisely.

Es is a project of Sami Sänpäkkilä, a musician, film-maker and the head of Fonal Records. To date he has released five full length albums, and made tens of short films and music videos. He also recently scored the soundtrack to the Swedish award winning film Apflikorna. His music and films are experimental moodscapes that explore the themes of melancholy, pathos and hope.

Tomutonttu (tr. “dust gnome”) is a human by the name of Jan Anderzén, a visual artist and leader of the respected avant-garde sound group Kemialliset Ystävät. Toy reed streams, mutilated vocals and groovy loops of animal noise are just some of the colours used to create the whirling mess that is the lonely song of Tomutonttu. His discography is a labyrinth reflecting the nature of his music.

Together, they have prepared an experimental cocktail that sounds like two drunken masters of music, conducting the protons and neutrons travelling from their instruments to their skulls and back, to create a musical nucleus. The CD and vinyl packaging both display Fonal’s customary attention to detail. Both include a striped acetate film, that when placed over the cover, creates an animated sequence of images. The illusion works on the persistence of vision principle. The covers are designed and produced by Jari Suominen (of fellow Fonal recording artists Jarse and Shogun Kunitoki). The vinyl will have a limited edition run of 500 copies

Format: CD
Total lenght: 44 minutes
Catalogue Number: FR-64
Released: 27.5.2009

BUY: CD / LP / Digital download

Scroll to top